This received from Aymeric Peguillan. Especially useful for readers outside Joburg who do not see some of these bands as often as they’d like:

Dear all,

Hope this finds you well-

You might have tuned in last Sunday to check the new series on SA Jazz produced by Militia Broadcast and broadcast on DSTV´s Channel 321 Sunday afternoons at 4pm.

This series of 13 episodes of 48 minutes each will present for the next few weeks some of the best young talents on the SA Jazz scene currently. Expertly crafted and with high standards of production, each episode proposes a live set of original compositions by a lead artist and his/her band with cuts into interview with the band leader. The series was shot at a beautiful private location in downtown Johannesburg (By Library Gardens) on the 8th floor.

Eban Olivier is the founder and artistic director of Militia Broadcast. It is under his direction that this series was produced. We (Eban and I) had the pleasure to first collaborate on the 1st anniversary of The Orbit Home of Jazz in March 2015 when we filmed the entire week of the festival that took place at the time. Following this great collaboration, Eban Olivier approached Aymeric Peguillan of PEGS MUSIC PROJECTS to executive produce with him the series. We are hoping to make additional series in the future to document the fantastic dynamic that exists on the local Jazz scene at the moment.

The series will air every Sunday for the next 12 weeks with a repeat the same day later in the evening.

Artists in order are as follows:

06 AUG – Nhlanhla Mahlangu ́s DaniMali (passed – last Sunday )

13 AUG – Vuma Levin Quintet
20 AUG – Benjamin Jephta Quintet

27 AUG – Siya Makuzeni Sextet

03 SEP – Mandla Mlangeni & Friends

10 SEP – Mkizwana Ensemble

17 SEP – Sisonke Xonti Iyonde

24 SEP – Newskool Sextet Ft. Tsepho Tsotetsi

01 OCT – Andre Petersen Quartet

08 OCT – Africa Plus Fet. Sphelelo Mazibuko, Prince Bulo and Lungelo Ncgobo

15 OCT – Keenan Ahrends Quartet

22 OCT – Luyanda Madope and H3 featuring Mthunzi Mvubu

29 OCT – Africapella featuring Titi Luzipo


Produced by Militia Broadcast.
Directed by Eban Olivier.
Executive Producers – Eban Olivier, Lance Stehr and Aymeric Peguillan
Sound and Backline: Smack Entertainment
Editor: Greg Pereira
Final Mix: Marius Brouwer
Production Manager: Willem Van Der Walt


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.